I Have a Shmup Problem

JerkFace

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

Edited By JerkFace

So I'm recently finding myself with an unquenchable thirst for shmups.  Despite this, I'm fairly new to the genre and I'm looking for any feedback on some good ones I might be able to get my hands on.

I'll briefly list the ones I have at the moment:

Raiden Fighters Aces
Raiden IV
Ikaruga
War-Tech: Senko no Ronde (I know, I know.  It's weird and somewhat terrible, but MAN are those 'chievos easy to get!)

I have a 360 currently, and I'm not morally opposed to using emulators for anything older.  I also hear there are some good indie shmups built for PC, which I'm intrigued by.  So what do you guys think? I need my Bullet Hell fix!

JerkFace

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#1  Edited By JerkFace

So I'm recently finding myself with an unquenchable thirst for shmups.  Despite this, I'm fairly new to the genre and I'm looking for any feedback on some good ones I might be able to get my hands on.

I'll briefly list the ones I have at the moment:

Raiden Fighters Aces
Raiden IV
Ikaruga
War-Tech: Senko no Ronde (I know, I know.  It's weird and somewhat terrible, but MAN are those 'chievos easy to get!)

I have a 360 currently, and I'm not morally opposed to using emulators for anything older.  I also hear there are some good indie shmups built for PC, which I'm intrigued by.  So what do you guys think? I need my Bullet Hell fix!

ArcBorealis

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 6

#2  Edited By ArcBorealis

If you got a DS, Bangai-O Spirits is something worth checking. It's not a traditional shmup as in vertical or horizontal scrolling, but there's LOTS of shooting.  
Plus it's challenging, but personally, it wasn't brutally tough as many reviewers made it out to be, but that's probably because I could pick up the controls and gameplay pretty quick. Once you know how it works, alot of it becomes a breeze.

JerkFace

Forum Posts