Something went wrong. Try again later
    Follow

Oculus Rift

Accessory »

The Oculus Rift is a virtual reality headset for the PC released in March 2016.

Good deal at $400?

Patmcc19

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

Looks like they've dropped the price. Anybody thinking about getting one that this point? I'm mighty tempted. But I'm still don;t know if the games are there. Seems like its going to be a round that price for awhile.

ripelivejam

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

I'm tempted to get one to lose myself in Elite Dangerous, but I don't think it's worth it for that. Cool as it may be.

Cybexx

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1

User Lists: 9

Yeah that seems like a pretty good price. The tracking is more limited than the Vive but the Oculus Touch controllers are pretty solid. Superhot VR is really good, I Expect You to Die is really good. Most of the SteamVR stuff is compatible with Touch.

As a Dev I can say that the Oculus Rift CV1 is very comfortable to slip on and off, built-in headphones and mic are surprisingly good quality. Bright areas in the display get blown out more than on the Vive or PSVR but it is generally a very nice headset just make sure you have enough USB 3 ports available on your PC, you may also need a bigger power supply if you have something around 500 watts, depending on the graphics card.

I am biased since I work at Radial Games but I think the Kaiju-scale mode in Fantastic Contraption, where everything is at model ship scale is a great way to play that game with Touch controllers. Room-scale is still mostly great on Oculus, we spawn you a bit further back to encourage you to walk forward but you can obscure the controllers fairly easily.

OurSin_360

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers