Something went wrong. Try again later
    Follow

PC

Platform »

The PC (Personal Computer) is a highly configurable and upgradable gaming platform that, among home systems, sports the widest variety of control methods, largest library of games, and cutting edge graphics and sound capabilities.

Questions about SSD's/HDD's and Windows

intro

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1  Edited By intro

Hello all.

I've been playing on PC for a little over 4 years now. My first purchase was a prebuilt PC. Over the years, I bought one extra hard drive, upgraded multiple things such as the case, motherboard, CPU and the GPU a few times. However I've never replaced my original HDD, just bought another to download Steam games to. I checked my device manager and it says my main HDD is a Hitachi HDS721050.

I've heard having Windows installed on a SSD is a bit faster than an HDD. Is this upgrade worth it? If so, is it possible for me to transfer my Windows activation over? When I bought the prebuilt PC, the seller did include the copy of Windows 7 with the activation key. Sadly, I believe that's long gone and in a landfill somewhere. I'm currently running Windows 10 just from free upgrades over time. I'm not interested in using a non-genuine copy of Windows. So, is it possible to do a fresh/clean install of Windows 10 on a new SSD without owning the original Win 7 activation code I started with? Or would I have to purchase another Windows key?

Thank you in advance for any and all help.

conmulligan

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 11

#2  Edited By conmulligan