Something went wrong. Try again later

    Saint Beasts

    Concept »

    Also known as the Holy Animals, Sì Xiàng, or Sì Líng, they are the four directional guardians, each given a color and element.

    Short summary describing this concept.

    Saint Beasts last edited by Marino on 08/30/20 05:20PM View full history

    The most generally accepted "roster" of the beasts is as follows:

    • Qīnglóng or Seiryū, the Azure/Blue/Green Dragon, guardian of the East and given the element of wood
    • Zhū Què or Suzaku, the Vermillion Sparrow, guardian of the South and given the element of fire
    • Xuánwǔ or Genbu, the Black Tortoise, guardian of the North and given the element of water
    • Bái Hǔ or Byakko, the White Tiger, guardian of the West and given the element of metal

    Additionally, the four are ruled by Huánglóng or Ōryū, the Yellow Dragon of the center and given the element of earth. Due to the redundancy of two dragons, he sometimes replaces Qīnglóng in popular fiction representations.

    Some incarnations replace Bái Hǔ with the Qílín or Kirin, although it lacks the elemental and color association its contemporaries have.


    This edit will also create new pages on Giant Bomb for:

    Beware, you are proposing to add brand new pages to the wiki along with your edits. Make sure this is what you intended. This will likely increase the time it takes for your changes to go live.

    Comment and Save

    Until you earn 1000 points all your submissions need to be vetted by other Giant Bomb users. This process takes no more than a few hours and we'll send you an email once approved.