Game freelancers: thoughts?

GooieGreen

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 2

#1  Edited By GooieGreen

On the most recent bombcast (5-21), the crew was asked about game "journalism" freelance. I'm curious if there are any in the Giant Bomb audience that have thoughts on their role in the industry or their site and what you ultimately hope to gain from your work.

I've been writing since 2009 and at some point I was completely committed to turning this into a real career. Then I went to E3 and saw how so many journalists live their life and how much of a struggle it was. Still, I kept at it as a fun hobby that let me to on trips and experience a whole new world that I had only read about as a kid. As I've begun transitioning to a field that I find more beneficial to society, I remain in this weird state of limbo between a career and my hobby that (due to graduate-level work and internships) has forced me to value my contributions to both fields a lot more. In short, I want to get paid in more than just experience.

I don't think I ever ran the risk of not valuing myself or my work; I determine my own self worth but I can see how others might run that risk. I've produced really good and not so good content over the years but the opportunity to get a laugh or show someone a game they had never once considered has always won out for reasons to stay. If you aren't passionate about writing or producing content, you will burn out in any field. If you wouldn't do it for a hobby, why try to make it a career?

I'd love to hear what the Bombdience has to say.

Cramsy

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1

User Lists: 3

I studied Journalism because of the original Hotspot podcast and because English was my strongest subject in school. As things went along I realized that the journalism industry is pretty fucked hard to get into right now and even when you're in, it's not exactly the highest paying-stress free career path.