Are Gaming Headsets worth it?

This topic is locked from further discussion.

AcidBrandon18

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 1

Sony recently introduced the Silver Headset for the PS4 and there is a deal on some turtle beach headsets on Black Friday which got me thinking. Should I buy a headset for my PS4? I've never used a headset before with my consoles. Nor have I ever had surround sound. I just use the regular speakers from my TV. The idea of a headset seems pretty cool and maybe I'd be able to appreciate the sounds in my games more, but I need to ask you duders. Are gaming headsets worth it?

I_Stay_Puft

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 5

#2  Edited By I_Stay_Puft

I think so but I only use it when playing against friend or people I know. I rarely use a headset when playing with random people or usually mute the other players if they have their mic on.

PrivodOtmenit

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 0

#3  Edited By PrivodOtmenit

@acidbrandon18 said:

Sony recently introduced the Silver Headset for the PS4 and there is a deal on some turtle beach headsets on Black Friday which got me thinking. Should I buy a headset for my PS4? I've never used a headset before with my consoles. Nor have I ever had surround sound. I just use the regular speakers from my TV. The idea of a headset seems pretty cool and maybe I'd be able to appreciate the sounds in my games more, but I need to ask you duders. Are gaming headsets worth it?

Gaming headsets are the same as headphones, they are worth it in the sense they bring you "closer" to some sounds, but your mileage will vary as there's thousands and thousands of different headphones & headsets out there. The simple rule is, unless you really need a microphone, you're always better off getting a good pair of headphones (Typically like...Sennheiser or similar) because they are better quality and value for money than your average Tritton or TurtleBeach set.