• 77 results
salarn

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1  Edited By salarn

I have a couple of free hours and decided that if you had any questions about the game industry I would the time to answer them as best as I could. I have eight years of experience as a professional programmer. I am currently employed by Ubisoft along with my wife. Whom I also wrangled her into helping out she has seven years of experience in QA/QC, and can provide a different viewpoint. I have two shipped titles (Fracture and F3AR) and of course quite a few that did not get to market. While she has ten times that but under group credit.

opp

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#2  Edited By opp

How do you get instructed as to what you should program? Is it just 'You guys must code the UI. It will look like this, and these bits will do this etc.'?

And how do you make sure all the systems will work together in the finished product?

The last one is what i'm most curious about, because i have always wondered how so many programmers code something that work together this well.

FluxWaveZ

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 6

#3  Edited By FluxWaveZ

How are the hours?

DarthOrange

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 7

User Lists: 19

#4  Edited By DarthOrange

How the corporate mobility?

Humanity

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 40

User Lists: 16

#5  Edited By Humanity

How did you first get into the business?

What was your education and experience like before you got into it?

What was the interview process like?

Is it like working for any other big company or are the rules a lot more lax in the office?

I've always wanted to do stuff like concept art for a game developer - even though you're a programmer do you know anyone from the art departments and what that sort of situation is like?

Thanks.

salarn

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#6  Edited By salarn

@opp said: