Building a Plex server (never built before)

j1m3n7

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

Hey duders,

Long time lurker, first time poster.

I'm wanting to start a personal plex server to host my DVD/Blu-ray collection, I have a budget of around £800 and want it to be able to support maybe 3 simultaneous streams. I have around 1000 DVD's maybe 20 or so Blu-rays, so would also need to be able to rip them all. I have never built a PC before, I have upgraded graphics cards and RAM in a PC before but nothing more in depth.

Can anyone recommend any build guides (including parts lists and where to buy, I'm UK based) or decent pre-builts for this purpose.

Thanks duders.

Virtual_Balboa

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#2  Edited By Virtual_Balboa

I've been hosting a Plex server for years now, you probably don't need as powerful hardware as you think. I don't know how easily you can find used computers in the UK, but I would look there first. My strategy was to look for the most expensive i7 machine I could afford at the time.

aktivity

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#3  Edited By aktivity

Plex uses very little resources if your streaming without transcoding. I just took a small Dell from my office after a migration, it has a i5-3470s and 8GB ram. Attached a couple of external WD Red drives to it. Does fine on my home network with two blu-ray quality simultaneous streams, especially since I rarely have need for transcoding. If you expect a lot of transcoding, then a beefier CPU will be required (still no need for expensive high-end though). A CPU with integrated graphics might save you the need to buy a GPU.

mikewhy

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Another option would be a NAS. They might be a better option if all you're looking for is storage + a Plex server, and not managing a whole-ass server.

frytup

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

@aktivity said: