In Defense of the "PlayStation Phone"

crusen

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1  Edited By crusen

First off, I'm new to GiantBomb's paid community, so hello to all. Just thought I'd try to get a little conversation going here about my newest prized possession, the Xperia Play, aka Playstation phone. Since it's come out I've seen a lot of negativity about the phone, and I have to admit I was skeptical, but having had it for a month now I can safely say I am loving it. Why?

The buttons work.

When I first got my hands on the phone, the buttons felt a little odd, not having much travel at all. Having not had my hands on a PSP Go, I can't say whether they're similar or not, but after a day or two of use they felt wonderful.

The analog pads are workable at worst and brilliant at best.

Games such as PewPew 2, Age of Zombies, and Dead Space all use the analog pads wonderfully, and for brief moments make me wonder if analog sticks on a handheld aren't unnecessary. Even on games like NOVA 2, Pro Evolution Soccer 2011, and Madden where they don't feel well optimized, with some tweaking they are perfectly usable and far preferable to onscreen virtual pads.

The emulation. Good God, the emulation.

This is where the Xperia Play really earns its keep. I have a hefty library of classic games that I would only pull out on occasion just because of the hassle necessary to find a spot for them in the entertainment center, making sure the cords are all functional, etc. Now I am able to play them anytime I want with controls that are perfectly suited to them, and with the added benefit of things such as save states. If you have a large classic library I highly recommend checking this phone out.

Oh, and one more thing...

It's a really solid Android phone.