Is this PC Wall-Mart PC a decent upgrade?

Avatar image for deactivated-6157afb2b3c07
deactivated-6157afb2b3c07

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 2

User Lists: 4

I have a custom built PC that I've had now for around three years and it's really starting to show its age. It sports an AMD Quad Core x4 640, 4 gigs of DDR3 memory, Geforce 560 Ti and a hard-drive that is at least nearly five years old and from an older PC from way back and a CD Drive that is also just as old as the hard-drive. I bought 8 gigs of memory to throw in there a year ago to find that my motherboard only reads 2 gigs to each slot, so I have 8 gigs in there but it only registers 4. I want to upgrade, but as a college student I don't have nearly the amount of money to use on a good, future proof PC. I've been shopping around just out of curiosity sake online, but to my surprise my local Wall-Mart has a desktop Dell that has a i5 Intel Quad Core (not sure specs, but it said second generation), 8 gigs of ddr3 memory and an intel HD graphics card with Windows 8. It retailed for no more than 600 dollars. It didn't seem like a bad decision, as I could get it, and throw my old Geforce 560 ti in there. It also has a 1 TB hard-drive and CD-burner. Would this be a decent upgrade that could last me, at least the next couple of years or so and till I'm out of college and be a decent speed boost from my older machine?

Cameron

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1

User Lists: 2

The trouble with those machines is that they almost never have very much upgrade potential. They will often only have one PCE slot, or none in some cases. That means you'd have to swap out the motherboard to do any real upgrade, and if you're going to do that, then you might as well just do that with your current system. I'm not saying it's 100% not a good choice, but be careful about what you are buying.

WasabiCurry

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#3  Edited By WasabiCurry