Learning Game Development Seems Daunting

smeffw

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

Does anyone have any words of wisdom or suggestions about how to go about learning game development? Is Unity the way to go? I'm a complete novice and am trying to figure out if game development is what I wanna do. Any help would be appreciated.

Giant_Gamer

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Unity is too complex for beginners and might scare you of. Why don't you start with simpler 2d enigines first like RPG maker.

VierasTalo

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#3  Edited By VierasTalo

If you just want to start making a game without knowing a single thing about it before hand I highly, highly recommend giving a shot to Tom Francis's (developer of Gunpoint) excellent YouTube tutorial about making a game in Game Maker without any prior experience. Game Maker Studio is a completely free software that's even available on Steam for you to download. Here's the first part:

Loading Video...

cornbredx

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 15

#4  Edited By cornbredx

Unity will seem daunting if you go right into it. It's not actually hard, but if you've never programmed or made a game before it will look like gibberish. The UI is not immediately apparent or user friendly to novices. I honestly would argue the same for GameMaker, but some think it's UI is more understandable so it is a place to check out if you really want to dive right in. There's tons of videos on making games in GameMaker.