PC vs Consoles - a war for the ages.

JRock3x8

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 2

User Lists: 0

#1  Edited By JRock3x8

The purpose of this post is to gather feedback from the best video game community in the world (that would be you). Let me give some context for my situation.

My first exposure to video games was Pong at my uncles house in the early 80s. I thought it was really cool and wanted more. Then my mom bought me an Atari 2600 and I was head over heels in love - there was a space strategy game that jumps to mind as a favorite although Empire Strikes Back and Missile command were both favorites as well.

Sometime later, my mother remarried and my now stepfather was a computer programmer by trade so naturally our house shifted to a PC focus. I started playing Space Quest and Police Quest obsessively. At some point, we upgraded to the "legendary" Packard Bell 386SX-16. Now I could play wing commander (which I did to the point of throwing up one night (ok, so I ate a lot of raw cookie dough that night too, don't judge me).

Next I built my own PC with the help of a local business. It was a 386-40 with an AMD processor. I was heavy into simulation games at the time like civ, sim city, overlord, and front page sports football by Sierra. I was not paying attention to the console scene at all. This would continue through my high school, college and early professional years where I would build my own PCs and then play games on them. Mechwarrior 2 and mercenaries are firmly entrenched in my mind as favorites from the late 90s. Geat blend of strategy and action.