What is considered to be good amount input lag on a TV?

big_jon

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 2

User Lists: 18

So I just upgraded from my 46" LCD from 2009 to a Samsung 46ue5300. Now both are 46", both are LCD, though the new one is led, and both are 60hz. So why did I upgrade? You guessed it, input lag. When I bought my Sony in 2010 I did not realize that input lag was I thing, I though that a good response time was enough for a good gaming experience, but after doing research I realized that the model I had bought though a very solid TV had some of the worst input lag in its range at something like .44ms. The TV I bought today is nearly half that at .23, so I just wanted to know, because I'm not an expert, is this all right? I can feel the difference, but I have 90 days to take the TV back if I want to.

Strife777

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 2

#2  Edited By Strife777

Not a lot of TVs right now go under the 20ms mark, so yes, 23ms is very very good. But 44ms isn't actually terrible since some TVs go up to 70s and higher.

Edit: That obviously also depends on the type of games you play. FPS and fighting game hardcore fans would probably argue that 44 is actually terrible.

EditEditEdit: Here's a small list from CNET with some TVs input lag. They've only started taking it into account recently so it's not necessarily complete but it gives you an idea.

Tyrrael

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 0