Anyone have experience with volunteer organizations?

wefwefasdf

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: -1

User Lists: 1

#1  Edited By wefwefasdf

For the last few weeks I have been thinking very seriously about finding an organization or something to volunteer for. Since I am just taking classes and have a fair amount of free time, it just seems like a good idea and something I could really enjoy.

I was curious if anyone on the board has had experience with specific volunteer opportunities? Did you enjoy it? How long of a commitment was it? Did you get burnt out? How were the people?

Thanks in advance. I'm just looking for ideas!

cnlmullen

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

#2  Edited By cnlmullen

I have a lot of experience volunteering to teach/tutor people. The organizations I volunteer with are all local, but I can say tutoring people with handicaps and helping people learn English is very rewarding work.

spudtastic

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 0

#3  Edited By spudtastic

Some years back , I worked for the Salvation Army, qualifying super-poor moms for Christmas gifts for their kids. It was rewarding, although I was a white guy working in a ghetto location, so there was some cultural awkwardness, at least for them. They didn't qualify me regarding my religious beliefs ~at all~, even though I would have told them I was a christian. I felt good to help; it was very busy; it was sobering to see a 15-year-old girl who looked 12 holding her baby.( documents were mandatory)

Arabes

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#4  Edited By Arabes

@cnlmullen said:

I have a lot of experience volunteering to teach/tutor people. The organizations I volunteer with are all local, but I can say tutoring people with handicaps and helping people learn English is very rewarding work.