Here is my first voice acting demo reel!!!

MakoTitan

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1  Edited By MakoTitan

Hey guys, Giantbomb is my favorite community, so I wanted to share something that means a lot to me with you all. This is my first voice acting demo reel. Becoming a voice actor has been a dream of mine since I was a kid, so I thought I would give it a shot. I am by no means a professional, but am looking for ways to break into the field, so if you have any advise or can point me in the right direction, I would be very grateful.

eskimo

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#2  Edited By eskimo

Pretty awesome, but the barney gumble impression was way below the quality of the rest. You also might want to look into spending more time normalising your recordings, the levels were a bit crazy in some places eg. elmo voice.

Solid work though, some great impressions. Nolan North had some interesting stuff to say about changing your voice to make it unrecognisable, you might want to check that stuff out if you haven't already.

Aegon

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 3

#3  Edited By Aegon

These impressions are really good, but I've done some research on this subject and many voice actors (such as Yuri Lowenthal voice of Yosuke) say that it's much better to have original voices on your demo reel than impressions.

TruthTellah

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 2

#4  Edited By TruthTellah

Quite good! I appreciate the Rocco's Modern Life, Claw, and Full House references thrown in there.

I definitely agree with eskimo, as well. While I think the Barney Gumble was fine, definitely not one of your best, the biggest thing to possibly fix would be the normalization of the audio. With some of the yelling or high-pitched moments, it kind of hurt my ears instead of simply sounding loud. You can pretty easily just modify the audio track and replace the one already in the youtube video.