Super-realistic CGI, your opinion

ClassyLime

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 3

#1  Edited By ClassyLime

After listening to the Bombcast this week, Ryans remark about the CG in Avatar got me thinking about my own feelings about that stuff. After thinking about it a bit, I could see how something like Avatar could just feel so polished and expensive that it feels artificial, it's all static, because it cost so much there could be no room for error with so much at stake. 

But I have to say, I loved Avatar just because it had such good special effects. I'm in second year in University now, taking computer science, and it's really changed how I view almost all technology. I see some new game or computer or algorithm, and I think "Man that looks awsome" and I wonder how they did it. It really gives me more respect for the people that spent so long making these CG movies and game designers and the like. 

So this brings me to my question; has anyone seen CG or graphics in general that left them in awe, or just totally shocked them. This could be for a movie or a game. 

For me, it would actually be Final Fantasy: The Spirits Within. I was about 11 at the time it came out, and I remember clearly seeing comercials for it on TV, and it was the first time I ever saw CG like that, and I was amazed. I actually thought it was real life for a few seconds.
Mmmslash

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 1

#2  Edited By Mmmslash

For me, I always get that Uncanny Valley thing, and the CG makes me really, really uncomfortable.

This also makes me dreading my hype for the upcoming Heavy Rain.

ClassyLime

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#3  Edited By ClassyLime
@Mmmslash said:
"For me, I always get that Uncanny Valley thing, and the CG makes me really, really uncomfortable.  This also makes me dreading my hype for the upcoming Heavy Rain. "