What will it take to get started in the game industry?

Obbeskrutt

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1

User Lists: 0

Edited By Obbeskrutt

I'm currently being stuck in a quite tricky situation.
Me, just like several thousand of gamers across the globe, is dreaming about a career in the game development business.
The problem is that I'm located in Sweden, and there's not that many development studios available that's hiring staff on a regular basis, so the competition is strong amongst the students.

You see, I'm studying game-design at university level, currently taking courses in concept art, QA, design, 3D tools and more.
I've played games with a passion since 1991, and I've always dreamed about someday being part of a development crew, but seeing all those talented students
around me really makes my heart sink to the bottom... Why would anyone look at me? What can I ever do in order to get recognition?

I guess this is just one of those days where I just can't gather enough motivation to see the bright future...
Well, I guess I should turn in those last QA assignments... Just like those twenty other students in my class will do this week, all of them with the same hopes and dreams as myself...

Obbeskrutt

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1

#1  Edited By Obbeskrutt

I'm currently being stuck in a quite tricky situation.
Me, just like several thousand of gamers across the globe, is dreaming about a career in the game development business.
The problem is that I'm located in Sweden, and there's not that many development studios available that's hiring staff on a regular basis, so the competition is strong amongst the students.

You see, I'm studying game-design at university level, currently taking courses in concept art, QA, design, 3D tools and more.
I've played games with a passion since 1991, and I've always dreamed about someday being part of a development crew, but seeing all those talented students