Something went wrong. Try again later
    Follow

Persona 4 Golden

Game » consists of 9 releases. Released Jun 14, 2012

Persona 4 Golden is an update of the critically acclaimed PlayStation 2 role-playing game. New additions and changes have been made exclusively for the PlayStation Vita.

Trying to Break Back into the JRPG with Persona 4 Golden CONTAINS SPOILERS

kmfrob

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1

User Lists: 0

Edited By kmfrob
    No Caption Provided

Despite being in the somewhat enviable position (depending on your perspective) of being a Japanese videogame translator, I have traditionally taken little away from my time with JRPGs. Well that is not strictly true in that, like many of my age, I did spend far too much time in my early teens obsessing over classics such as Final Fantasy VII, Chrono Trigger, Tales of Mana etc., but in general, as time has passed, my interest in the genre has faded. I dabbled in the beautiful Ni no Kuni on the PS3 and also in later entries in the Final Fantasy series (even managing to derive some element of pleasure from XII), but otherwise the genre has been lost to me for over a decade now.

But when passing through the pages and forums of the gaming magazines and websites I respect and enjoy, I all too often come across the sentiment that I am missing out on something truly special if I do not give the Persona series a fair chance. Not doing so, it seems, is at best just being willfully ignorant, and at worst tantamount to sacrilege. So when Persona 4 Golden appeared on a recent PSN sale I felt compelled to purchase it. Despite my leanings away from the genre, I was curious and was eager to see what all the fuss was about. I did not go in expecting to be converted to a JRPG fan overnight, but I did hope to gain some insight into what it was that inspired such fandom in so many people.