Something went wrong. Try again later
    Follow

PlayStation 3

Platform »

The PlayStation 3 (often abbreviated PS3) is the third home video game console created and released by Sony Computer Entertainment Inc.

Any duders successful in repairing their PS3?

IIGrayFoxII

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 11

#1  Edited By IIGrayFoxII

As the title suggests, I was curious if anyone has been successful in repairing their PS3 and if so, how was it? Easy? Difficult? Like to hear the unsuccessful stories as well.

You see my PS3 got YLOD of death a month or so back (I guess Game of Thrones Season 2 was too much for it). With it being a launch 60 GB backwards compatible PS3, I would really like to perform life support on it to play upcoming titles like Dragons Crown, The Last of Us, Beyond: Two Souls, etc. A fix is detailed here.

I am a PC Technician for a living so I do this kind of thing on a normal basis, but I thought I could get some feedback from the GB community. Thanks in advance.

mosespippy

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 4

User Lists: 8

I didn't have any luck with mine. I tried the heat gun method, which apparently works 90% of the time, but it didn't work. I replaced every part except the mother board and the blu-ray drive and still didn't get it to work. Eventually I bought a new slim PS3. Even if you manage to get yours to work again it will only be temporary, maybe 3 months at best.

turboman

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 23

I tried a handfull of things with the system, and was never able to get it back. Even if I could've, it seems that the PS3's life is only extended for a handfull of months (if that).

PS3s have a tendency to break when new shit is coming out. Mine broke on the week of Portal 2/Socom 4/Mortal Kombat

Wacomole

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 2