The sequel to Spelunky.

Default walk or run?

csl316

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 11

I've watched Brad run a lot in his streams, and it's kinda crazy to watch since my default is walking. Not judging, it just looks different to be moving so fast! I started 2 and running by default seemed like a scary design choice, but luckily there's a toggle. So what do you do?

Even after beating Yama 30 times, I still default to walk. I'm no speedrunner and Spelunky seems like a game about being careful as you explore. Especially in this early time when I'm still learning the new areas.

Now, I hold run 90% of the time, but when there's a stand off with a bat I need to slow down. Holding the walk button during a tense battle like that would be too much to worry about. I watched various streams this week and boy, a lot of folks are trying to shoulder tackle skeletons.

I wasn't able to make a poll, so a deep pro/con discussion will have to do.

GerbilsInSpace

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 2

My default, and only option, is run. I don't know which button is the walk button. It's a change I made on the vita with spelunky HD, and it got me past olmec, and on spelunky 2, it's got me to world 5 just fine. I probably would do better in my dailies if I slowed it down, but I like my runs fast and frequent.

The issue I'm having is the switch between handheld and TV. When I played HD on ps4, running felt a bit too quick, so I ended up going solely vita. Now I have no choice at the moment over where to play, I'll stick with gotta go fast.

BoccKob

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 0

I don't think I've ever played Spelunky without holding down the run button, so I'm looking forward to this change. Always go go go!

Strathy

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 4

The controls for Spelunky 1 are so embedded in my bones by now that I need to have run off. I still hold it down 95% of the time though.

sombre