Have Any Games With Depressing Atmosphere Turned You Off?

• 61 results
OceanEve

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

So, I started playing Hollow Knight recently. I really enjoy the game, but there is a part of me everytime I play it, that becomes bogged down by just how depressing it can be.

Maybe it's because there are alot of negitve and depressing things happening right now, but I just don't know if I have the energy or enthusiasm to engage with that kind of world in a video game right now.

Have any of you felt like this? Every now and again I'll get this way with first person shooters, and not wanting to see that kind of violence up in my face.

Thank you for your time! ^_^

TobbRobb

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 13

There's something about these drab and depressing atmospheres that I find oddly soothing. I actually enjoy soaking in the Hollow Knight environments.

I've definitely been turned off by atmosphere in games though, even if not much comes immediately to mind. But the reason has never been that's something too depressing. I'm more likely to turn something off for being loud or obnoxious.

liquiddragon

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 2

User Lists: 19

#3  Edited By liquiddragon

It's probably a good thing. It's better than someone like me that tends to gravitate towards depressing games, depressing movies, depressing music. Still, every time I beat a game, I do have to gut check what I'm really in the mood for next. Maybe you're just not in the mood for it? I usually want to go for something much different from what I just played. The worst is when you end up hating a game you'd definitely be into by force playing it. A big part of enjoyment of entertainment, I find, is what you bring to it. Hey, all the happenings in the world are bringing you down, why play something that's going to compound that?

bigsocrates

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers