• 57 results
cookiemonster

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 2

#1  Edited By cookiemonster

I'm about a third of a way through my second year at uni, and I can't help but feel that I don't want to be here. I'm studying maths and I can't motivate myself to do any of the work. The whole routine is so dull: Go to lectures, do worksheets. That is it.

My flatmates are taking courses in engineering and theres so much variation in their workload compared to mine. They have group work, do presentations, have coursework set in different computer programmes. Not to mention the fact that due to the amount of group work they have to do, they actually know and are friends with loads of people on their course. There are far too many people on mine (over 200 I think), so due to the lack of group work, I barely know any. Also I tend to find very few are particularly friendly (and this leads me to the other aspect of uni: social life).

Another aspect I'm finding difficult to cope with is the social side of uni. Back at home, I have many close friends, I feel totally comfortable around them and they often ask me to come out with them. At uni, its a completely different situation. I rarely go out, and have very few friends that I want to hang around with. It seems like a majority of people at this uni are boring rich kids from London that just want to go to terrible nights out (where the music is god awful) so that they can pull.

Its something I've thought long and hard about for the past few weeks. At the moment, I suppose I have 3 options:

1) Drop out (and try and figure out what I want to do with my life)

2) Stick it out and wait for it to come good (Really not a big fan of this option)

3) Stick it out but start paying for music lessons (As I'm not going out too much/doing too much, I was thinking of pooling the money saved from nights out into guitar or singing lessons. My dad said that he would consider putting money into this too)