• 79 results
Zamolxes

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1  Edited By Zamolxes

I started playing Doom 3 for the first time earlier today and I was really surprised at how well it holds up visually. And I do mean VERY surprised. It basically looks like an early XBOX 360 game. So I am curios if you can recommend me some older games (PC mostly) that hold up well visually. They can be older then Doom 3, but games that you think still look nice.

I am not obsessed with graphics, but I haven't played games on PC prior to the PS3/X360 era and I want to play some older games that hold up well.

Now back to Doom 3, that game looks so good! I took a few screenshots it's just so impressive for the time. I didn't install any mods, it's all original graphics including the 4:3 resolution.

No Caption Provided
No Caption Provided
No Caption Provided
No Caption Provided

Obviously it will look dated compared to modern games, but I guess I am so surprised because I was gaming on a PS2 during that time and didn't know much about PC games (or this game) back then. But it seems that Doom 3, Half Life 2 and Far Cry pretty much had next-gen visuals a year before the Xbox 360 was out.

The jump from PS2 to PS3/360 was HUGE, but I guess PC had it first.

FrostyRyan

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#2  Edited By FrostyRyan

Mario Sunshine, Wind Waker, Jak and Daxter, Splinter Cell Chaos Theory, SMT Nocturne, Silent Hill 3...

ArtisanBreads

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 2

User Lists: 6

#3  Edited By ArtisanBreads

Half Life 2 is obvious but you mentioned Far Cry and I was going to say that. To me that was the most impressive looking game for a long time after it came out. In general, good game too. I didn't like the monsters but the rest was outstanding.