Something went wrong. Try again later

    Monster Hunter Generations

    Game » consists of 8 releases. Released Nov 28, 2015

    An action role-playing game published by Capcom for the Nintendo 3DS. The game was released in Japan under the name Monster Hunter X (pronounced "Cross") in November 2015.

    Short summary describing this game.

    Monster Hunter Generations last edited by Bowl-of-Lentils on 05/10/18 08:01PM View full history


    Monster Hunter Generations (Monster Hunter X in Japan) is the third game in the fourth generation of the Monster Hunter series for the Nintendo 3DS. The theme of cross has used in the game with four flagship monsters, four fighting styles, etc. This game uses the fourth generation Monster Hunter engine and adds a lot of extra flair and effects during the hunt.

    Monster Hunter Generations (MHG) has new monsters and game systems that add to the complexity of hunting and weapon use. The combination of Hunting Styles and Hunter Arts can let the hunter choose how they would like to hunt and can adapt to monsters that are giving the hunter some difficulty. The new monsters work themselves into the story of MHG and the requests given by the Bherna Chief.

    Hunting Styles

    Monster Hunter Generations (MHG) features four new hunting styles that allow the hunter to execute new moves depending on how they like to play the game. Past Monster Hunter games had a set of moves dedicated to a weapon and players would learn new movesets depending on the weapon. In MHG, you can pick a weapon and a fighting style that allows to do some new tricks during the hunt.


    The guild hunting style is the classic set of moves that you used in Monster Hunter 4 Ultimate.


    The aerial hunting style allows the hunter to jump off monsters and players in order to deliver attacks in the air. This includes a few slams and distance moves that keeps you out of harms way. The player gives up a fair bit of evasion in order to land hits on a monster.


    The striker hunting style will give the hunter the ability to trade in big, finishing moves to allow the hunter to do smaller, quicker hits on a monster.


    The adept hunting style will trade evasion for more technical set of moves that will deliver more damage. As the name suggests, this style will reward the more seasoned hunter.

    Hunter Arts

    Monster Hunter Generations includes the ability to select flashy, overpowered moves called Hunter Arts. These moves are selected before the hunt and the availability is dependent on which Hunting Style the hunter decides to use. These moves range from devestating attacks to useful healing buffs. Most of the hunter arts are hunter specific with just a handful of general use hunter arts.


    Flagship monsters for this title are Astalos, Mizutsune, Glavenus and Gammoth. These monsters have specific elements that they represent and work the lore into the main story of Monster Hunter Generations (MHG).

    New monsters featured in the game include Glavenus, Astalos, Mizutsune, Gammoth, Maccao, Moofah, Larinoth, Great Maccao, Malfestio, Redhelm Arzuros, Stonefist Hermitaur, Snowbaron Lagombi, Silverwind Nargacuga, Dreadking Rathalos, Dreadqueen Rathian, Drilltusk Tetsucabra, Thunderlord Zinogre, Grimclaw Tigrex, Hellblade Glavenus, Crystalbeard Uragaan and Nakarkoso.

    Total monster count:

    • Small Monsters - 34
    • Large Monsters - 71
    • Total Monsters - 105


    A new village will be added to Monster Hunter Genreations (MHG) called Bherna. Other villages and cities include Kokoto Village, Minegarde Town, Jumbo Village, Dundorma, Pokke Village, Moga Village, Loc Lac City, Yukumo Village, Port Tanzia, Val Harbar, Harth, Cheeko Sands, Cathar, Mezeporta Square, Milard Village, Hunter's Manor and Mezeporta.

    Areas from other Monster Hunter games will be added to the Monster Hunter 4 Ultimate roster. Confirmed areas are listed below.

    • Verdant Hills
    • Marshlands
    • Misty Peaks
    • Arctic Ridge
    • Volcano
    • Ancestral Steppe
    • Frozen Seaway
    • Primal Forest
    • Volcanic Hollow
    • Dunes
    • Deserted Island
    • Sacred Mountain
    • Sanctuary
    • Jurassic Frontier
    • Wyvern's End
    • Tower 3
    • Ingle Isle
    • Polar Field
    • Slayground
    • Arena
    • Moat Arena


    All weapons featured in the previous game, Monster Hunter 4 Ultimate, will be featured in the game. Weapons are listed below.

    • Great Sword
    • Long Sword
    • Sword and Shield
    • Dual Blades
    • Hammer
    • Hunting Horn
    • Lance
    • Gunlance
    • Switch Axe
    • Charge Blade
    • Insect Glaive
    • Light Bowgun
    • Heavy Bowgun
    • Bow

    This edit will also create new pages on Giant Bomb for:

    Beware, you are proposing to add brand new pages to the wiki along with your edits. Make sure this is what you intended. This will likely increase the time it takes for your changes to go live.

    Comment and Save

    Until you earn 1000 points all your submissions need to be vetted by other Giant Bomb users. This process takes no more than a few hours and we'll send you an email once approved.