Something went wrong. Try again later
    Follow

Final Fantasy XII

Game » consists of 9 releases. Released Mar 16, 2006

The last Final Fantasy game released on the PS2, Final Fantasy XII is distinguished by its condition-driven "gambit" battle system, its Monster Hunter-like open environments and side quests, and its setting in the existing fictional universe of Ivalice.

Gambits are making this way less enjoyable than it should be

Steadying

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 2

I just started playing this game for the first time around a week ago, and I gotta say, I HATE how your party members won't do anything but a normal attack unless you manually tell them to, or " program " a gambit for it.

I think the idea of the gambit system is a cool one. I like knowing that my party members will for sure heal me if I go below a certain percentage of HP. But why on earth is there not just an " auto-pilot " mode for your party members so they behave like, I dunno, Xenoblade party members or something? You know, how they actually used their hard earned abilities by themselves, without you having to constantly pause the game to input commands? During boss battles, I'll generally take control of everyone myself, but during normal battles, that just gets kinda boring.

I'm loving this game otherwise, but I'm just hating how forced upon me this gambit system is. Do you eventually find any gambits that are just like " yeah do anything you feel like " or something that makes this whole thing feel like less of a total chore? Or better yet, IS there an " auto-pilot " thing that I'm just totally missing here?

TobbRobb

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 13

Well, the auto-pilot IS the gambit system. If you set it up correctly they will just act on their own right? An hour of setup to save 10 hours of switching/pausing and whatnot.

Steadying

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#3  Edited By Steadying