Anyone want to make a Giant Bomb video game with me?

RainVillain

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 8

User Lists: 17

#1  Edited By RainVillain

Lately I've been thinking it would be a lot of fun to make a Giant Bomb-themed video game.

A game where you play as one or all of our lovable Bombadeers.

Maybe a platformer or a JRPG. Either entirely fantasy-based (like those Penny Arcade games), or a twisted version of reality (with Quick Looks and reviews being enemies/bosses). Probably something simplistic enough. Definitely 2D. I'm thinking of picking up Game Maker or RPG Maker and making something with one of those.

THAT SAID, I'd love to turn this into a GB community project. I am by NO MEANS a programmer/game designer, so if there was someone interested then I could easily pass the torch to them.

Similarly, I am no artist, so finding an artist/animator would be super useful.

I am primarily a video game music composer, you can hear my music here. So honestly I would love to focus on this game's soundtrack, first and foremost, having someone else do the art and code.

I would be willing to help write and design, but the coding and art should definitely be in someone else's hands. Any interest?

Edit:

Also, a couple other ideas if this was an JRPG it could be fun to play with classes, such as:

-making Ryan a thief/assassin (because he likes stabbing dudes in the face with a knife -- oddly satisfying), with high cunning but very low stamina (brother sweats like a mofo!).

-Brad could be some kind of scholar/mage class, as he seems the highest academic scholarly education(?), though is prone to fatigue/sleep.

-Jeff could be the soldier, jaded and cynical.

-Vinnie could be the "chosen one". A family man who gets involved in this mess

-Dave is the engineer, though he has an evil split personality: Hardcore Dave, who is wild, untameable

-Drew is the pilot (think Cid), and camera man. Fan-favourite.