• 136 results
lordgodalming

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 40

User Lists: 16

#1  Edited By lordgodalming

I am a lifelong gamer, reader, and writer. When I was a kid I spent my summer evenings either stretched out on the couch with a sci-fi novel, or on my dad’s PC playing Lucasarts adventure games. So here’s my question: are other gamers readers?

I’ve been writing books for a good ten years now—a few of them good enough to publish—and my newest book is actually about a gamer. The feedback I’ve gotten from agents and publishers is, “Great story, but there’s no market for it because gamers don’t read.”

To which I say, REALLY? I am a gamer and a reader. My friends are gamers and readers. What am I missing? Thanks for taking the time to reply.

Avatar image for video_game_king
Video_Game_King

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 54

User Lists: 14

Not really, because I already get a lot of meaty stories from games. Plus time management and all.

Clonedzero

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#3  Edited By Clonedzero

Well of course there are gamers that read. Gaming and reading aren't mutually exclusive. I haven't been reading much lately if i'm being honest.

donutfever

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 35

I do a little bit, not as much as I should.

CaLe

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 1

As part of studying, yes. Not much for recreational purposes these days.

Dot

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Not me.

schreiberty

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

well im pretty sure Ready Player One did pretty good, so there has to be some market. Also generally i dont like reading fiction about video games, it usually comes across like its trying to hard but Ready Player One was pretty good.

Also yes, i read books regularly

JJWeatherman

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 10

User Lists: 18