Ever overlook or outright miss certain game mechanics?

• 95 results
sockemjetpack

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1  Edited By sockemjetpack

I just started playing Dead Space last week and went through the first few chapters before I realized that I could break the boxes with the flashing green lights to get items. I noticed them at the beginning of the game and tried to interact with one but no context came up and at the time I didn't have kinesis. Until that point I was watching my supplies like a hawk like I was playing the original Resident Evil.

So the question is have you ever done something like this? Have you ever gone through a significant chunk of a game without realizing you were unintentionally gimping yourself?

Two more examples that come to mind as I write this:

The Getaway for PS2. Went through at least half of the game without realizing you could lean on walls to regenerate health. It made the game trivial after I learned that since I became so cautious and of course had spent so much time dying that having an extra health bar or two per level felt like a cheat.

TMNT 2: The Arcade Game for the NES. I used to play that game with my cousin all the time without ever knowing you could do a power move by hitting both A and B at once. Lots of jump kicking needed to get through that game without that little nugget of info.

Justin258

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 11

User Lists: 8

#2  Edited By Justin258

I actually remember hearing, somewhere, that someone went through the entirety of Dead Space without realizing that you can bust the green boxes for items.

Also, I know that I've had this happen but I can't exactly name which mechanic, when, or even what game. I know it's been a number of them though.

crusader8463

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 7

User Lists: 5

#3  Edited By crusader8463