Games you've replayed and turned out to actually be good in your opinion when they weren't initially?

NTM

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1  Edited By NTM

I'm currently replaying Assassin's Creed 3, and that game was the worst Assassin's Creed game to date until I just started playing it again. It was, in my opinion, a mediocre game bordering on poor. Once I finish the game and it sticks to being as good as it is now, it definitely puts the AC series as a good bunch of games nearly through and through with one outlier (Unity is still below average to me [the first AC is also not great I believe, though the story is fine]). Originally AC3 was a huge bore for me, the visual hitches were a hindrance and the story and characters were underwhelming; all those things are not so true anymore, I liked Black Flag and I also liked Rogue for their on foot gameplay (which I also played relatively recently), and three is basically the same type of thing, though with a few differences.

Some things that bothered me was always running away from enemies after not being incognito due to killing British soldiers, and the combat was frustrating. The one thing I did like about that was the stellar soundtrack that played, which was the one thing I loved about the game minus the fact it doesn't really play when you explore, but even that is negligible now. The combat isn't frustrating, it looks cool and is just fun. Getting around the city when guards are on alert, it's almost akin to old-style MGS (without the vision cones) as you go through ally's waiting for soldiers to pass. I don't remember ever using the town criers either which would have alleviated that issue. I borrowed the game from my brother when it came out, that's the last time I played the game.