International Edition Text Books to Save $$$?

MAN_FLANNEL

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1  Edited By MAN_FLANNEL

So like most people I hate getting shit on by text book prices every semester, and I literally just found out about "International Edition" text books. I can either buy a used, crappy US copy of the book I need for $70 ($150 new), or buy an international edition brand new for around $20. Anybody have any experience with these?

zombie2011

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 5

#2  Edited By zombie2011

Depends on what your major is.

I got my degree in Mechanical Engineering from the US. US uses english units while international versions of books use SI units so i couldn't use them. The books are exactly the same they just have different units which was no good for me.

If you're buying international versions of psychology or sociology books or other electives it'll be alright. They are the exact same books

CaLe

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 1

#3  Edited By CaLe

Luckily people have scanned a whole bunch of the books I've needed so I just downloaded them for free. Maybe that's illegal, but I don't really care.

MAN_FLANNEL

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#4  Edited By MAN_FLANNEL

@zombie2011 said:

I got my degree in Mechanical Engineering from the US. US uses english units while international versions of books use SI units so i couldn't use them. The books are exactly the same they just have different units which was no good for me.

If you're buying international versions of psychology or sociology books or other electives it'll be alright. They are the exact same books

Yeah I guess that could be a problem. Civil Engineering here and it's a Transportation book.

ajamafalous

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 9

#5  Edited By ajamafalous
@MAN_FLANNEL said:

@zombie2011 said: