Looking To Get Into DOTA2 - Need Some Help

diresu

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

Hey guys,

So, I am a total moba newbie, never played any of them...but it seems like everywhere I turn these days someone is gushing about DOTA, and after also watching a bit of TI4 I decided to give it a go.

With that said, I am wondering where to start? Are there any good guides for new players, twitch streams, etc that I should check out?

Also, I am curious whether there is a Giant Bomb community regulars that play, that could maybe show me the ropes. I would much rather learn with a group of people that are willing to teach, than through playing with randoms that do nothing but scream obscenities in my direction because I am not an expert. And also from everything I seen it seems like playing with friends/regular group of people is the most fun way to experience a game like this.

My steam username is Diresu.

Thanks Guys!

diresu

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Awesome, I will check all those things out, appreciate the help!

Eviternal

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1

@diresu: I agree that Purge's guide is a good place to get a grasp on the fundamentals. I'd recommend playing with GB duders (as linked above) first: they can explain item and ability 'builds' as you need them. Once you've got the basics, I'd say play a few Easy bot matches to learn some different heroes without any pressure. (Be aware that the bots don't quite play like people: They always have two bots top and bottom, with one mid; they often clump as a group of five after the early-game; and they never use certain items. If you plan on playing against people, don't rely on the bots as an analogue - I find bot games are useful for trying out heroes or builds, though.)

The International 4 also featured a Newcomer's Stream. They had some troubles on the first day, but if you watch from Day 2 onwards you'll learn plenty in a short time.