Mulling over Video Games the Movie

cornbredx

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 15

Edited By cornbredx

Video Games the Movie is a documentary that was released this year about the history of Video Games. It tries to encompass the medium, the industry, to sum up the history, as well as the culture that surrounds video games, in about an hour and 45 minutes or so. I feel it fails in doing that.

I originally wrote this piece to place on netflix as a review, but being that I am an amazing writer it does not fit into their character limits.

I cannot shorten it, and I spent too much time to have written this and not post it somewhere so I figured I'd just post it as a blog. Please excuse any errors as while I always edit myself I have not put a lot of time into this other than the hour I have been writing my thoughts down and I just really needed to discuss this documentary and why it gets so much wrong.

If you have any questions about the documentary after reading it, don't be shy. Go ahead and ask. While in the review I say otherwise, the documentary is on Netflix so if you haven't seen it go ahead and watch it on Netflix. It's ok, but to me it's not as good as it could be. It's still kind of fun if you just want to watch others geek out on video games as a medium. That's something that can be fun, and the only thing the documentary gets right.

Below is the Netflix Review of it I wrote:

"I did really enjoy this as a sweet indulgence, but that comes with an addendum. While I enjoy this as a love letter to video games, and the people that have become successful because of video games, anyone engrossed in video game culture will notice a ton of flaws almost right away.