What percentage of your Steam games have you ever installed?

RuinRunner

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1

User Lists: 5

Edited By RuinRunner

Listening to this week's Bombcast, I was reminded of an increasingly pervasive trend among gamers that I just can't seem to wrap my head around.  The guys were teasing Vinny for buying a bunch of games in the latest Steam sale that he'll never play (though they've all admitted to the same behavior at various points in the past).  While he laughingly acknowledged that he probably will never play most of them, it seemed not to require further explanation.  I frequently hear similar stories from friends and on other podcasts and see them on message boards as well.  As a Mac user, I am new to Steam.  But Microsoft have finally started to see the brilliance of this digital distribution pricing model and have begun offering time limited XBLA sales, and still I've managed not to buy a bunch of crummy arcade ports and tower defense clones I know I won't touch.

However, it's not just fire sale priced digital content that is causing this effect on gamers.  One guy I know buys a new copy of pretty much every AAA title for all three of the main consoles at MSRP on the day of release and then consigns a large majority of them to permanent stacks of shrink-wrapped DVD cases on a desk (his gamerscore's in the 30,000s after 5 years of 360 titles).  That's an extreme case, sure, but how many games have you bought (on sale or otherwise) that you "just haven't gotten to yet"?  Just this morning I saw that GoGamer has Left 4 Dead 2 for $20.  I did want to play that one.  And that is a great price.  But I missed it.  And I know if I buy it now I won't be able to play it before something brand new is released that I want to play (nor will I be able to find co-op companions, for that matter).