Would you consider a game interface an art?

• 54 results
oneki

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1

User Lists: 0

#1  Edited By oneki

Hey, ya'all!

I'm in my last year of BA studies and as such I have to be all academical and such. I have to write the very important paper, all the university kids has to write. Being mostly interested in Game Design and User Interfaces and since I am studying graphic design I thought it might be a good idea to search for a topic somewhere in between.

So, here's (and also in the title of course) the question:

Would you consider a game interface an art?

If you don't want to go into the word art, think about these two:

Does game interface allow for self-expression?
Can you imagine a sole game interface hanging/running as a video in a gallery at some point in the future?

I'm asking here since I know you guys are tense about anything game related and your opinion will matter. Feel free to discuss the relevance of the question, how come I have not read THAT article (in which case, please post that article), that explains everything or that I am missing the obvious basic book about the topic.

Now discuss! Your help will help Jeff to score on more artsy anime girls!

StarvingGamer

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 25

#2  Edited By StarvingGamer

As with most things, it can be.

But "art" is such a nebulous concept. Architecture can be considered art and I imagine that UI's are created in a similar way.

musubi

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 8

User Lists: 17

#3  Edited By musubi

Oh for sure. Good looking GUI's are a definite boon for any game or software. And I think there is room for expression or innovation just look at things like Splinter Cell Conviction projecting your objectives into the environment.

NyxFe

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 4

#4  Edited By NyxFe