Do you need to have a distinctive voice for Voiceovers?

ravensword

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1

User Lists: 1

#1  Edited By ravensword

Im a Aspiring voice over artist, but im not sure if My voice is good enough for it. Im taking a voice over class at college, and my teacher did say that she thinks I could do it when I asked her. But im just not sure if my voice is good enough or distinct enough for this business. Im mainly aiming for animation. Ill use a example using some of my favorite voice actors. Vic Migogna, nick bakay, richard horvitz, crispin freeman, tom kenny, adn mark hammil all have distinct and good voices. However, I think mine is kinda generic. it dosent stand out. Do you think taht some people jsut have the voice for it, or is it all about what you can DO with the voice you have?
Dany

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 4

#2  Edited By Dany

Realism is key depending on the product and you may have to keep a low key, if that is your style and you would do great in that. Animation does ask for a more dynamic voice but if your teach think our fine, then go ahead and do it!

torus

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 0

#3  Edited By torus

Can you post a link to a demo? It's hard to judge without actually hearing what you sound like.

jonnyboy

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 6

User Lists: 2

#4  Edited By jonnyboy

I think you should give it a shot. You'll never be as bad as whoever did the voice work for the Ishimura's computer in Dead Space. Whoever told that bitch she could do a british accent should be shot, it was so bad it was bordering on offensive. I think it stood out so much because your male and female counterpart's voice work in that game was so good.

AURON570

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 4

#5  Edited By AURON570