Electrical outlet issue?

NTM

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

I have my PC hooked up into a surge protector (which I know isn't a solution to this, but I thought I'd mention it anyways), and basically, the majority of the time when things in the house elsewhere that surround my room turn on, so does my computer. I or someone else turns either my bedroom, the master bedroom or bathroom's light on, the PC wakes; someone turns on or off the dryer, the PC wakes. I turn a vacuum on near my room, it wakes, or before when I used to plug the HDMI into the 360, any time I touched the HDMI into the input of the 360, it'd turn on. I'm not sure if I should be worried, but currently, it's just a minor annoyance, because I put it to sleep, and it can potentially, instantly come back on. I'd rather not turn it off. Are the outlets somehow connected?

Spoonman671

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

That's not due to the power outlet. I'm an electrician.

szlifier

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 4

#3  Edited By szlifier

This is an example of electromagnetic interference. The motherboard in your PC should not react to such events, but for some reason it does or it's something connected to it.

Outlets usually are connected, they're on the same phase. This is the most likely route of interference that causes this, but it can also go through radiation (through "air").

Now there are a couple of options:

• Your PC is configured to wake up after hitting a key on a keyboard or clicking a mouse and those devices pick up the interference and send a proper signal to the motherboard and it turns on - most likely. The fix is to go into BIOS and turn these features off or replacing your kb/mouse.
    You can also try disconnecting your kb and mouse and flipping the light switch to test it.
  • Your motherboard is busted and is vulnerable to such events.