Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 5

User Lists: 11

Edited By I_smell

HELLO.

Steam

My game comes out on Steam TODAY. 10am PST, I think. I'll be sending out a few thousand steam codes to all the people that bought it already today.
It got greenlit on November 30th 2012. Getting on Steam is a big deal- how big a deal? I dunno! I've never done it before!
I made this game over a year ago, and I'm not that big a fan of it any more. I'm excited and nervous about how this'll sell, cos it COULD mean that I can spend the next few months, or year, working on a brand new idea!! (future ideas will be much better than this fuckin thing)

Quandry

Speaking of new ideas: I made a prototype about a month ago, and something interesting came up. Remember when I asked how Bully would work with all girls, and I just got called out on being sexist for 8 pages? Well in brainstorming ideas, I actually formed a game I thought would be pretty cool. It's like a decision-based emergent adventure game like Walking Dead, except you do High School and make friends n enemies that way. So I crapped out a hundred randomly generated names n copy-pasted a tonne of facebook posts and stitched this together.
After a while I stopped cos it's a lot of database stuff and some writing, and that's not fun to do. Which is worrying, right? I ENJOY making fast-paced combat games and comedy games and all this animation, but on the other hand I wanna make this lil thing, or a big world-travelling Final Fantasy adventure game, but that would be a huge slog to make... and if I'm not enjoying the work then why bother being independant, right?
In the future, am I gonna only make the kind of games I enjoy making, or am I gonna push myself through work I don't like? I dunno!

Back to things I like: I had a huge burst of energy yesterday and planned out something I wanna prototype. If this Steam game goes well, I'll get started on this:

JetGetters