Something went wrong. Try again later
    Follow

Heroes of the Storm

Game » consists of 1 releases. Released Jun 02, 2015

Heroes from Warcraft, StarCraft, Diablo, Overwatch, and other universes are summoned to the Nexus for five-on-five combat in Blizzard's take on the MOBA genre.

Heros of the Storm - my inital thoughts

LunatiCT

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

I’ve been playing MOBAs for over 10 years, since way before anyone coined the term MOBA in the early days of DOTA on Warcraft 3. I currently play Dota 2 and I have enough Legends of Legends and various other MOBAs under my belt so far. I’m mainly going to discuss my initial thoughts on Heroes of the Storm, but I’ll also touch on MOBAs in general.

Heroes of the Storm is super team oriented, which is cool. Team work is important and I’m used to seeing people who refuse to be team players and generally hurt the team, and that really won’t fly in this kind of game. Capturing creeps to help you push is interesting and talents can be cool too. Not sure how I feel about some of them starting off locked though. That seems like a pay for nonsense tactic. I already have to buy the hero, why do I need to buy his abilities separately. At the same time though, I find it boring that there is no real way to excel by yourself, not as a carry, tank, support or any other role. Everyone levels up the same, and money and items don’t exist. There’s literally no way for an individual to make large plays. At the moment, I can’t see a reason to not always just run around as 5. Which does mean larger fights and action just happening all the time, but when there’s no real amount of diversity, strategy or plays that can be made then what’s the point.