Something went wrong. Try again later
    Follow

PC

Platform »

The PC (Personal Computer) is a highly configurable and upgradable gaming platform that, among home systems, sports the widest variety of control methods, largest library of games, and cutting edge graphics and sound capabilities.

$1800 workstation and gaming build

sumjugei

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1  Edited By sumjugei

I haven't built a pc since 2002, things were quite different then. I am primarily a lighting designer for theatre, but I have been getting more and more work projection designing. Editing for the projections is taking a toll on my 2011 Macbook Pro. Like most of you I love games and I want to be able to make them as pretty as possible. Take a look.

ProcessorCore i7-4770K$320
    MoboGigabyte GA-Z87X-UD3H$160
    GraphicsEVGA GeForce GTX780 3GB$510
    RAMCrucial Ballistix Tactical 8GBx2 DDR3 240pin$190
    StorageSamsung 840 Evo 500GB SSD$270
    PowerCorsair Pro 760w ATX$170
    CoolingCorsair Hydro H80i$85
    CaseCorsair Carbide 500R Black$115
    Total:$1820

I will be putting in a 2TB Seagate Constellation drive I bought last year for media.

Would you add or change anything?

Should I skip the water cooling until I know I will overclock?

Thanks

mike

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: -1

User Lists: 6

#2  Edited By mike

Just a couple of thoughts...look into the Noctua NH-D14 instead of the Corsair closed circuit water cooling units. There are some direct comparison on Toms and the Noctua easily wins. I have a Corsair H100 and it does the job, but if I had it to do over again I'd just get the Noctua.

You could also save $100 or so and go with a Corsair TX650 instead of that 760w...that's a good PSU but way, way overkill. You could get the TX650 and still run a pair of GTX 780's with no problem if you ever wanted to add a second card.