Something went wrong. Try again later
    Follow

PC

Platform »

The PC (Personal Computer) is a highly configurable and upgradable gaming platform that, among home systems, sports the widest variety of control methods, largest library of games, and cutting edge graphics and sound capabilities.

Intel i5 2500k vs i7 2600k

armartin812

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1  Edited By armartin812

I did a search for this topic title and couldn't find a topic already created.

I'm beginning a new computer build next week and after ready many articles on Google I'm left with nothing but a headache.  I'm not tech savvy with the lingo of computer gaming so mHz, Gflops and tessalation are like speaking jibberish to me.  I'm looking for PC gamers with experience who can break the comparisons down in laymons terms lol.  Bottom line is I want to know which processor to get for strictly gaming.  I'm not into video and music editing.  I just one a pretty decent gaming rig.  The video card I'm getting is the EVGA GeForce GTX 570 OC'd.  I just want to know which processor to go along with it.  Thanks a million!

bassman2112

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 23

User Lists: 12

#2  Edited By bassman2112

Honestly, if you're not doing a ton of rendering and the like you won't see a huge difference between the two =) I'm personally running the 2500k and do lots of rendering and think it works perfectly for my needs, the 2600k would probably be overkill; but honestly, it's your money haha. If you think you'll eventually use all that extra HP, go for it; but I'd stick with the 2500k =)

Marz

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 5

User Lists: 11

#3  Edited By Marz