Something went wrong. Try again later
    Follow

PC

Platform »

The PC (Personal Computer) is a highly configurable and upgradable gaming platform that, among home systems, sports the widest variety of control methods, largest library of games, and cutting edge graphics and sound capabilities.

PC Games Only Running Under the Surface?

Avatar image for a_cute_squirtle
    A_Cute_Squirtle

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1

User Lists: 3

#1  Edited By A_Cute_Squirtle

So I'm still relatively new to PC gaming, and the PC I built this summer has been giving me some issues regarding some of the games I'm running. Dragon Age: Origins, Need For Speed Hot Pursuit, and Far Cry 2 have all given me this same issue:

I launch the game, either by its exe, or through Origin/Steam.

Visually, nothing occurs, but I can tell through Task Manager that the program is in the "processes."

Can anyone think of a fix? Here are my specs:

XFX Core Edition FX-787A-CNFC Radeon HD 7870 GHz Edition

Intel Core i5-3550 Ivy Bridge 3.3GHz (3.7GHz Turbo)

G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3

ASRock Z75 Pro3 LGA 1155 Intel Z75 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

And I'm on Windows 7, if that makes a difference.

DystopiaX

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 0

#2  Edited By DystopiaX

Happened to me while playing ME. What worked for me was quitting, running Steam as an administrator, then playing the game. It works, and after the first time you can run steam normally.

Not sure if it'll solve your problems but I guess it's worth a shot.

A_Cute_Squirtle

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#3  Edited By A_Cute_Squirtle

@DystopiaX said:

Happened to me while playing ME. What worked for me was quitting, running Steam as an administrator, then playing the game. It works, and after the first time you can run steam normally.

Not sure if it'll solve your problems but I guess it's worth a shot.