Something went wrong. Try again later
    Follow

PC

Platform »

The PC (Personal Computer) is a highly configurable and upgradable gaming platform that, among home systems, sports the widest variety of control methods, largest library of games, and cutting edge graphics and sound capabilities.

RAM, Speakers and other questions

inkerman

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1

User Lists: 2

#1  Edited By inkerman

Hi guys,

Right now I'm studying in the US until January, and I'm looking at upgrading my computer when I get back to Australia. I expected I'd need to get a job on my return, but I may actually be coming into some money here in the US, so I'm considering getting my parts from Newegg, and then just posting them back to Australia.

First of all, I'm looking at upgrading my RAM, I currently have 6GB of Corsair XMS3 DDR3 (here), and I'm looking at getting more (basically another 6GB to make it to 12). I just wanted to check that my specs would be fine, I have an ASUS P6T Mobo (here) and an i7 920 (here). I know usually I'd be fine, but I was never certain with triple channel memory.

My second planned purchase is a speaker set for my PC, one good enough to play music really well (I'm not an audiophile or anything, just want a good set). Any recommendations would be greatly appreciated.

FYI, my budget is probably going to be around $300.

Ace829

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 2

User Lists: 4

#2  Edited By Ace829

You didn't hear the word on the street man? RAM is overrated! Just get a thin block of wood and that'll do just fine. I mean, RAM is the thing that gives you the graphics right? Right???

Kidavenger

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 90

User Lists: 33

#3  Edited By Kidavenger
    Toxeia

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 1

#4  Edited By Toxeia