Something went wrong. Try again later
    Follow

PC

Platform »

The PC (Personal Computer) is a highly configurable and upgradable gaming platform that, among home systems, sports the widest variety of control methods, largest library of games, and cutting edge graphics and sound capabilities.

Want to build PC, looked in What/How thread, but still need help!

PercyChuggs

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 2

#1  Edited By PercyChuggs

So I have been debating for the last 3 months on if I want to build my own PC setup or not. And I have been all over the What/How thread, comparing the different builds and stuff. But I am still in need of some help. Here is what I have, and what I need:

Have: 42inch LG 42LH30 HDTV that will act as my monitor.
    Have: $1000 to spend, but this has to cover EVERYTHING. Shipping, sales tax, keyboard and mouse, Windows 7
    Have: to buy all the components from NewEgg.

Want: I know that the Intel i5 Lynnfield processor is the one I want. Or is there something better/comparable for less money?

Want: I need this thing to be able to hook into my HD cable box and record TV in HD. Or does it even need to be hooked into a cable box to do that? This is why I need help!

Want: I would like this computer to play all modern games at more than acceptable performance. By that, I don't want it to look or perform any worse than it would if it were on PS3 or 360. Any better, and that would obviously be a bonus.

Do not need: a huge hard drive. I only play one game at a time, so I wouldn't need a bunch of games installed. I also keep all my media on separate external HDD's.

Any help on this subject would be greatly appreciated. That way I can build this thing and be on the PC forums more often! As it is, my only computer is a 5 year old Dell laptop I had to buy for school.

Geno

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 15

User Lists: 3

#2  Edited By Geno
    @PercyChuggs:

Windows 7: $100