Something went wrong. Try again later
    Follow

PC

Platform »

The PC (Personal Computer) is a highly configurable and upgradable gaming platform that, among home systems, sports the widest variety of control methods, largest library of games, and cutting edge graphics and sound capabilities.

Weird graphics issue when displaying PS4 on a Laptop

Brackstone

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1  Edited By Brackstone

So, due to my lack of a tv of my own, for the past few months now I've been running my PS4 through an HDMI In port on my laptop. It works pretty well. I can't get any sound through my speakers, but I prefer to plug my headphones into the controller and get audio that way, so no big loss. I've been using this setup for a few months now, no issues.

Now, though, I've noticed an issue when I play Bloodborne, and I suspect I just hadn't noticed it in other games. Basically, there's a weird issue with displaying gradients. I think that's what you'd call them, basically anytime a flat colour or texture gradually changes in hue or brightness from one area of the image to the next. The best example I can give is in the hunter's dream in Bloodborne when you look at the sky. As the colour of the sky changes as it gets farther and farther from the moon, I get these lines at regular intervals, seemingly marking the change in colour.

The other place I can notice it, and this is harder to describe so bear with me, is in the opening cutscene, when the light shines directly behind the friendly doctors head. The light effect around his head has a similar gradient issue, and it matches the outline of his head as it moves outward, effective making several larger outlines of his head.