Japanese novels similar to Persona 4?

#1 Posted by RainVillain (480 posts) -

Looking for a good Japanese novel (translated to English, ideally!) that is thematically related to Persona 4, one way or another, such as 
 
small town country life 
high school life 
supernatural 
personifications of mythological creatures 
etc.. 
 
I doubt one book covers all those topics, but am interested in a Japanese book that covers some of these topics. 

#2 Posted by The_Laughing_Man (13629 posts) -

There is a persona manga....

#3 Edited by Turambar (6713 posts) -

The Suzumiya Haruhi light novels might be up your alley.  They were licensed awhile back, though not sure how many volumes have actually made it over.  Includes the high school life and supernatural sides of things.

#4 Posted by Metric_Outlaw (1171 posts) -

Harry Potter

#5 Posted by keyhunter (3207 posts) -

There's plenty of persona 4 doujinshi out there.

#6 Posted by Bolto (5 posts) -

Not a novel, but Persona 4 is really similar to the manga JoJo's Bizarre Adventure Part IV: Diamond is Unbreakable.
 
They both involve small towns where people start to gain magical guardians that are bound to their spirits. And there is a mysterious man with one of these spirits walking around killing women.
 
The major differences are that there is no TV world or anything like that, and instead of fighting shadows the main characters fight other people with these spirits that use them for evil. And the killer's identity really isn't much of a mystery, but it follows his experience as the story goes along.
 
 
Unfortunately, there are only two translations for this manga. The only complete one is terrible. There is a lot of engrish and panels left completely untranslated. And the other one isn't completed yet.

This edit will also create new pages on Giant Bomb for:

Beware, you are proposing to add brand new pages to the wiki along with your edits. Make sure this is what you intended. This will likely increase the time it takes for your changes to go live.

Comment and Save

Until you earn 1000 points all your submissions need to be vetted by other Giant Bomb users. This process takes no more than a few hours and we'll send you an email once approved.