Something went wrong. Try again later
    Follow

Wii Music

Game » consists of 4 releases. Released Oct 20, 2008

Wii Music allows users to play and experiment with over 60 different instruments with up to three other players, focusing on fun and creativity instead of the "play as correctly as possible"-approach found in other music games.

Critical Dichotomy, A Wii Music Tale

Knives

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 14

User Lists: 9

#1  Edited By Knives

Miyamoto, genius or heretic?
    Miyamoto, genius or heretic?

1up.com:

A-

"True musicianship has taken a hit recently with all the music-based videogames captivating today's youth, and Wii Music will surely be the next virtual music experience replacing real music for everyone. As a classically trained musician, I might take offense at this -- except that Wii Music gets it really right. Using the Wii Remote, Nunchuk, and (optionally) Balance Board to mimic the motions of real instruments may have seemed like a bad joke when the game was first announced, but in practice, it works amazingly well. It's worth it to take the time to learn the four different instrument motions (drums, guitar, horns, and violin) because the game offers so many varied opportunities to pretend-play all of the dozens of instruments in the game, and knowing how to wave your arms and press the buttons just right makes the crucial difference between a stupid-silly game and an actually fulfilling one.

Wii Music may have a hard time winning over the skeptics who just want to laugh at it, but give the game the chance it deserves. You just might realize it's pretty damn fun being in on the joke."

- Jennifer Tsao

Many have argued that Jennifer has a "casual bias", rating other Wii-series games much the same way (giving Wii Fit a B+). If true, is it so wrong to have a casual bias? Should "toy" games be rated differently?

Ign.com:

5.0/10