How to get developers and publisher information?

nitro322

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

Hi, I'm just getting started with the giantbomb API, and while I've been able to figure out most of what I'm looking for, I hit a stumbling block regarding developer and publisher info. Specifically, I'd like to get a list of publishers and developers for a game. It seems like this query should do the trick:

http://www.giantbomb.com/api/search/?api_key=XXXXX&format=xml&field_list=api_detail_url%2Cname%2Coriginal_release_date%2Csite_detail_url%2Cdevelopers%2Cpublishers&query=%22street%20fighter%202010%22&resources=game

However, no developer or publisher information is returned. If I view the page for this game, though, I can see that giantbomb does have the both the developer and publisher populated, so I'm not sure why it's not showing up in my results. According the the API references developers and publishers should both be valid fields for the game object, and even if I omit the field_list altogether I still don't see that information listed.

Anyone know what I'm doing wrong? I've tried this with a few different games, so it's not an issue with the game itself.

Thanks.

frobie

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 4

#2 frobie  Staff

@nitro322: The results from the search call is limited to what is returned from a list call. In your case, this would be games. To get more detailed info about the game, you'll need to make a call against the singular game resource call by providing the the relevant game guid.

An example:

To get the publisher and developer of Zig-Zag I would need to get its guid which is 3030-637--guid is constructed with the game resource type and its id--and then make this call to the API:

http://api.giantbomb.com/game/3030-637/?api_key=[API_KEY]&format=xml&field_list=api_detail_url,name,original_release_date,site_detail_url,developers,publishers

nitro322

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 0