Who else can't seem to get the parry right?

• 68 results
FrostyRyan

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

I'm a souls veteran. I bought Demon's Souls back when it came out. I'm no stranger to the series and yadda yadda yadda but for the life of me I cannot seem to get the damn parry down!!!

There appears to be a pretty big delay between when you press the button and when your character actually does the swipe of the shield, much larger than before. The both times I defeated Gwyn at the end of Dark Souls, I did it only by parrying but in this game I just can't get it down. Am I alone?

Justin258

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 11

User Lists: 8

I have successfully parried once in an hour of DS3 play, which is half as many times as I managed to do in nearly a hundred hours of DS2 play. I found parrying a little too easy in DS1 and I was wielding a Zweihander.

Avatar image for adequatelyprepared
AdequatelyPrepared

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

I'm getting the parry down semi-consistently using the Weapon Art of the Uchigatana. Mainly by spamming it, which is also a good way to get yourself killed, I learned.

Avatar image for do_the_manta_ray
Do_The_Manta_Ray

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#4  Edited By Do_The_Manta_Ray

I'm just two-handing the Uchigatana, so I haven't actually parried using a shield even once. It's definitely a bit tricky with the Uchi (we're on first name basis) weapon art, but very doable once you understand the animation of the enemies as you have to start parrying considerably earlier than in previous iterations. Absolutely not something I'd try against an enemy I hadn't fought before, which is a bit different from previous Souls games where I felt like I could just experiment until I got it down.