• 69 results
jimmcgowan

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1  Edited By jimmcgowan

I've been reading a lot lately about people muting music in games or listening to their own music in it's place.  I've always been one to play games 'as they were intended' by the developers, and only really played my own music for things like driving games.  But from things I've read (like this) and discussions I've been having, I'm starting to think I may be in a minority...  In the interest of getting a difinitive handle on this for my research (I'm studying for an MSc in Sound and Music for Interactive Games), I was hoping that the good people here could spare 2 minutes to do a quick, 7 question survey on whether you listen to game music: http://kwiksurveys.com?u=turnoffgamemusic  I'd really appreciate it if you could.  It would also be interesting to hear any discussion/thoughts people have on this topic. 

Thanks, 

Jim

gamer_152

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 71

User Lists: 6

#2  Edited By gamer_152  Moderator

Done! Really I'm all for playing games as the developers intended, at very least the first time through, the music in the game is all part of the experience and often enhances everything else going on. The only time I might listen to my own music is during sections where I've heard the music plenty of times before or where there is no music. So the Halo multiplayer, Burnout Paradise story mode and pretty much all MMOs I've played a lot are good candidates.

thebatmobile

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#3  Edited By thebatmobile

Survey answered!

Avatar image for saturdaynightspecials
SaturdayNightSpecials

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 26

When I'm substituting my own audio it's most often a podcast, actually.

dpedal1

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 2

#5  Edited By dpedal1