Anyone else here have Hashimoto's disease (Hypothyroidism) ?

Unilad

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1  Edited By Unilad

Hey,

I was diagnosed about 4 months ago with Hypothyroidism. I'm currently on 200 mcg of levothyroxine. I think this disease doesn't get the attention it deserves. I didn't know anything about it before I was diagnosed but the effects are awful. I won't list them here, but (depending on your severity) untreated it can have fatal consequences.

Anyways I just wanted to ask if anyone here has it, or knows anyone who has it, and any advice on how to deal with it, or what to expect. I'm no medical expert, but from speaking to medical practitioners and others who have it, 200 mcg is a relatively high dose.

Sam

Justin258

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 11

User Lists: 8

#2  Edited By Justin258

I have never heard of it.

psylah

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 2

#3  Edited By psylah

How old are you, and how long ago did you begin to see symptoms / think that something might be wrong?

Unilad

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#4  Edited By Unilad

I am 21. It was really weird, as the symptoms gradually progressed and then sharply became serious? Wait, do you think there is something wrong with me, or do YOU think you may have it?

MistaSparkle

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1

User Lists: 7

#5  Edited By MistaSparkle

I believe my friend has it. He was diagnosed at 17 years old and at about 18 he had some surgery for it. It was some sort of radioactive surgery thing I guess, I don't know for sure if it was hyperthyroidism though, but maybe that sounds like a familiar procedure? I distinctly remember him having thyroid specific issues and him telling me he was going to need radaway because of the surgery. I also know that he does take pills for it, not sure about the dosage though.

redbliss

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#6  Edited By redbliss